Horton House Jekyll Island Georgia


Du Bignon cemetery


The Horton House


A visit to the ruins of Horton house is a walk back in time to experience the Georgia colonial era,
Horton House is a historic site on Riverview Drive in Jekyll Island, Georgia.
The tabby house was originally constructed in 1743 by Major William Horton, a top military aide to General James Oglethorpe. Horton also brewed beer in Georgia’s first brewery.
This structure has been meticulously preserved over the past 100 years as an example of coastal Georgia building techniques and as one of the oldest surviving buildings in the state. Across the street from the Horton House ruins is the du Bignon cemetery, a tabby wall surrounding the graves of five people Ann Amelia du Bignon, Joseph du Bignon, Marie Felicite Riffault, Hector deLiyannis, and George Harvey. Horton House, the Brewery Ruins, and the cemetery were added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1971.
The house is one of the oldest surviving buildings in Georgia
Admission is free